Workin’ Moms on CBC

An original comedy series created by and starring Catherine Reitman that tests the modern ideal that women really can have it all.

Workin’ Moms follows the lives of four women as they juggle love, careers, and parenthood. They support, challenge, and try not to judge each other as life throws them curveballs. Whether it is an identity crisis, a huge job opportunity, postpartum depression, or an unplanned pregnancy – they face both the good and bad with grace and humour. Kate is the flawed and fearless heart and soul of the series, who has stark home/life decisions to make. She relies on her closest friend Anne, a no-nonsense psychiatrist and mother of two, who is facing a massive family challenge. Charming and unpredictable Frankie livens any dark moment as she struggles with her own instability and relationship malaise. And sweet, former sorority girl Jenny seeks an uncharacteristically reckless awakening. Together the friends fearlessly confront the polarizing and unexpected realities of being working moms.

 

I will admit, I don’t completely know how I feel about this show yet.  Being a new Mom, I was interested in watching it from the moment I first saw the ad for it.  I know that I will enjoy having some independence when the time comes for me to get back into the workforce, but I am also dreading the thought of having to leave Liam.

In just the first episode, Workin’ Moms touched base on many real life Mom situations, while focusing on what happens when your maternity leave comes to an end and I really respect them for that.  It makes me excited for what is to come if they were able to talk about so much in just the pilot.  I laughed quite a bit during the portions when they spoke about breast-feeding, and I cried during a scene that involves Catherine Reitman’s character, Kate,  missing on a milestone in her Son’s life due to the fact she was at work.  I think that is the main reason I am so apprehensive about going back to work.  Moms, how do you handle this?  Did you miss a milestone or two because of work?  Can women really “have it all” without being a work at home Mom?

The one thing I am unsure of is if I agree with the way they brought humor into having Postpartum Depression. I do not suffer with it myself so maybe the way they handle it is exactly what Mothers who do have it need.  I won’t judge something I do not have insight on so I will leave that up to you to decide for yourselves.  If I did have PPD, I don’t think I would find their “I wish I were brain dead for 10 days” humor funny, but again, I can’t really talk about what I am unsure of.  If any of you have watched this, let me know what you thought about this!

You can catch Workin’ Moms Tuesdays on CBC at 9:30ET and find more information online at www.cbc.com/workinmoms

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Workin’ Moms on CBC

  1. I watched what I think was the first episode (Kate is asked if she wants to take a short transfer to Montreal for a big account – I don’t recall a storyline on PPD). I thought the story lines in this episode were un-original and outdated. Maybe 10-15 years ago viewers might have found liberating dialogue such as where a male colleague accuses a female colleague returning from mat leave of not being interested in her career, an overbearing professional mother ripping through a school professional about her perfect daughter (not) or a disappointed husband when his wife misses date-night because she chooses work instead, but I don’t think that really reflects today’s issues for working women. It’s way more subtle and complex than that. And rating-grabbing foul language and other shock value scenes seem so pedestrian now. I’ll continue watching to see if things improve, as CBC has produced some really good shows lately and I do wish these women luck with Workin’ Moms. I’d just like to see something a little more witty, cutting and original.

    Like

Leave your thoughts!

