Slow Cooker Bolognese Sauce Recipe

 

pasta3I have always loved the idea of slow cooker meals, so when my parents let us take their slow cooker until we find our own, I started looking up all of the slow cooker recipes I had already pinned and had waiting for me on Pinterest.  There is something about cooking with your windows open, allowing the Autumn air coming in that makes you want warm, comfort food, which are perfect to make in a slow cooker!

It is definitely no secret that I LOVE pasta and can eat it every single day so when I found this recipe on Spend with Pennies, I knew I had to try it.  I altered the recipe just a bit to accommodate what I had in my fridge and pantry, but it was delicious (check out her original post for her full recipe)!

I saved enough sauce to use for a couple of nights worth of dinner and the rest is in our freezer.  Since we are expecting our little one within the next week or two, I wanted to do some meal preps that were perfect for freezing and will be ready to go for when Momma is too tired to cook.  This was the first one I made and the next one, Easy Chicken Noodle Soup (using leftover chicken) will be up tomorrow, so stay tuned!

Ingredients

2 tbsp olive oil
4 garlic cloves, crushed
2 onions, diced
2lb ground beef
2 x 28oz canned crushed tomato
4 tbsp tomato paste
3 tsp dried oregano
2 tsp dried thyme leaves
3 dried bay leaves
1 tsp salt
½ tsp pepper
Pasta

Instructions

Heat 1 tbsp olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add garlic and onion, and cook until translucent and sweet – around 7 minutes. Transfer to slow cooker.
Heat 1 tbsp oil in the same skillet and increase heat to high. Add beef and cook, breaking it up as you go, until browned. Cook in 2 batches if your skillet is not large enough. Transfer to slow cooker.
Add remaining ingredients into the slow cooker. Cook on Low for 6 hours.
Spaghetti
Bring a large pot of water to boil and cook the spaghetti until just before al dente. Remove 1 mug of the water from the pot, then drain the pasta.
Return the pasta to the pot and add 2½ – 3 cups of Bolognese Sauce, plus ½ cup of reserved pasta water. Toss gently over medium high heat for 2 minutes, or until the Sauce has thickened and coats the spaghetti.
Serve immediately with freshly grated parmesan cheese if desired.

 

Absolutely delicious!

-JLA

 

7 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Bolognese Sauce Recipe

Leave your thoughts!

