Copycat Recipe: The Famous Orange Julep Drink

Joanna the Montrealer

 The Gibeau Orange Julep restaurant (also known colloquially as OJ or The Big Orange) is a roadside attraction and fast food restaurant in Montreal, Quebec, Canada.[1][2] The building is in the shape of an orange, three storeys high, with a diameter of forty feet.The Orange Julep is quite iconic in Montreal.  I have always loved going there but I will never forget the time my Aunt and Uncle brought me and my Sister there at Midnight while we were in our pajamas, when I was much younger.  It was exciting and it is a great memory for me.  The most iconic part of “The Big Orange” (apart from their building), is their drink, the “Gibeau Orange Julep”.  It is delicious and while the exact recipe is unknown, I have made this version several times and it is close enough for me.

Ingredients

1 6 oz. can orange juice

1 cup milk

1 cup water

1/2 cup sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

12 Ice Cubes

*Optional egg whites/egg substitute may be added for the frothy texture.  About 3 Tbsp, but it is not mandatory.*

Instructions

Put everything in the blender except for the ice.

 Blend…

View original post 61 more words

4 thoughts on “Copycat Recipe: The Famous Orange Julep Drink

  1. Is an Orange Julep just like an Orange Julius drink; I don’t remember egg whites? You’ll have to excuse my lack of awareness! I used to enjoy Orange Julius as a child, but since moving away from Canada, I haven’t had that drink in over sixteen years; that creamy orange juice was so delicious! We might have to try and whip something up soon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it’s basically the same thing! The egg whites are definitely optional; I leave them out most of the time. After seeing your comment, I looked up other recipes and it seems like egg ingredients make an appearance in recipes from the States it seems. One person even recommended using whole eggs and not just the yolks (eek- I don’t know about that). Can’t wait to see what you whip up! I don’t ingest a lot of sugar during a day, so I don’t mind the 1/2 cup of sugar but if there was something to substitute all of that sugar without changing the taste, that would be great! Thank you for the comment!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nice! I’m pretty sure that if I had known there was egg in it as a child, I probably wouldn’t have touched it (I was really fussy)! A whole egg… that sounds like crossing a fine line (like a summer ‘eggnog’)! We don’t eat a lot of free sugars either so we wouldn’t be making it with it, but how to keep it’s authenticity? Hmm, we’ll have to get our thinking caps on. Thanks for reposting this recipe as it’s given us lots to think about! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave your thoughts!

