The Hand That Rocks the Cradle (1992) Film

I will never forget the first time I watched this film.  I was still in high school, and my Sister planned a fun sleep over night for us at her apartment.  These nights were always special for me and are some of my favorite memories to this day.

This is one of the films my Sister had chosen for us to watch while we indulged in some junk food and had Sister time (after a healthy and delicious dinner of course).  I loved this film right away.  I have always been a fan of thriller/horror movies and this is one of the more subtle films that offer enough drama and suspense without needing all of the blood and gore that other films offer.

The-Hand-That-Rocks-the-Cradle-movie-posterStarring Annabella Sciorra, Rebecca De Mornay, Matt McCoy, Madeline Zima, Ernie Hudson and Julianne Moore, the film revolves around a family and their seemingly innocent Nanny who we soon learn has other motives.  After losing her baby and her husband commits suicide, Peyton gets the position as the Nanny for the woman (Claire) who she blames for her whole life falling apart. Claire has no idea that Peyton has her own personal agenda, since they had never previously met.  Things with her newborn son, family and house begin to feel different the longer Peyton works for the family.  While her husband believes she is overreacting, Claire knows something isn’t right with their new Nanny.  You are left wondering what will happen right up until the end of the film and the end does not disappoint.

I had not watched this film for at least 5 years. I wanted to find it for my Sister as a Christmas gift for years but I could never find it in any stores so I told myself not to watch it again until I could find it.  I eventually, could not wait any longer and recently watched it again to see if it was as good as I remember it being.  It is.  Now that I am older, I understand the film more and certain scenes still leave me with chills.

I highly recommend this movie for anyone who enjoys “light” thrillers.  I have heard numerous times that it is hard for parents to watch (horror/thriller) films that involve children.  Do you find this to be true?  I recently watched a film called Emelie, and I will say- it makes me never want to hire a babysitter that I don’t already personally know for my children.  Any other horror/thriller film recommendations?  I can never have enough of them so please comment!

JLA

 

Leave your thoughts!

