Before I Go to Sleep (2014) Film Review

beforeigotosleep

“A woman wakes up every day, remembering nothing as a result of a traumatic accident in her past. One day, new terrifying truths emerge that force her to question everyone around her.”

Director: Rowan Joffe
Based on the Novel by: S.J. Watson
Starring Nicole Kidman, Colin Firth, Mark Strong

I often find myself watching thrillers alone since almost no one I know enjoys watching them like I do.  The same goes for horror films, movies with gore, etc.  Late one night, Netflix recommended that I watch Before I Go to Sleep.  I remember starting it once before and falling asleep before I could finish it, which usually isn’t a good sign. I love Colin Firth though, so I had to give it another shot.

This time around, the film caught my attention right away.  I find the thought of waking up with no sense of where you are, no idea who you are or what you’re doing in an unknown place, to be terrifying.  While that may describe a usual morning for several people after a night of partying (haha), that is far different from it happening and finding clues that told you that this would be a daily occurrence.  Also, perhaps you shouldn’t trust the person who tells you that he is your husband… any fear and paranoia you had been initially experiencing would drastically increase.

Throughout this film, you will get frustrated for not knowing who to trust and for not knowing what exactly is going on.  I am annoyingly capable of knowing what will happen in a movie after watching the first ten minutes of it for the first time.  If I don’t get every aspect of the film right, I always at least get 98% of the ending correct.  It’s both a gift and a curse.  I had been correct about several of my guesses throughout this film but there was a twist that while it may not be surprising for everyone, it does make for a fun movie to watch.

Kidman and Firth offer stellar performances and the end did bring a few tears to my eyes (I also rolled my eyes a bit though).  I am, however, a complete sap when it comes to movies sometimes so people will probably make fun of me for wanting to cry a tad at this film.

I have not read the novel that it is based on, but I would enjoy reading it now to see the differences between the film and the book.  Have you seen it and/or have you read the book?  What did you think?

-JLA

 

Leave your thoughts!

