“Praying” for the World

11168026_10153223945701814_627240014239119315_n“This is an attack not just on Paris. It’s an attack not just on the people of France. But this is an attack on all of humanity and the universal values that we share.”

– President Obama

It is hard to even form the right words to explain the anger, the frustration, the sadness and the rest of the emotions that tragedies, unnecessary acts of hatred, can cause.

I am not a religious person, but when terrible events like these occur, I “pray”.  At least, my version of praying, that is.

I pray for those who have lost their lives.  I pray for their loved ones.  I pray for things to change.

People are saying not to pray, that religion is what is at the root of why this all happened.  While I may not agree with, or follow any religion, (and I have several of my own thoughts on the whole subject), I don’t think blaming anything or anyone will help the situation.  There is already so much hate, me voicing even more hate will just add negativity.  If praying helps provide comfort for some, let them do so.  I want to say “Believe in whatever you want to believe in.”  However, I am hesitant to do so.  The ones who are killing innocent people believe that it is acceptable, that it is a solution- that is their belief.  The fact that I am hesitant to say we should be able to have our own beliefs, is sad in itself.

Almost every single time something like this happens, I hear people say, “Sure, it’s terrible, but what about the hundreds of people who die every hour of the day in other places?  No one is writing about them.  Something tragic happens in a well-known place and they forget about everyone else.”

False.

Beirut, Lebanon, Japan, Mexico, China, Paris… terrible things happened in numerous places yesterday.  We are not forgetting.  The amount of media attention each tragedy attracts should not represent the level of importance for each case.

We do what we can for the people we can reach.  We try our best to reach and help as many people as possible.  The problem is, there is so much going wrong in the world, it is hard to feel like anything you do is actually helping.

People have begun to say that because of these events, “The world is going bad.”  It’s almost as though they believed this is the first event to happen to push the limit of people, and to push the limit of how much we believe we can love.  The world has been in a bad state for a long time, and while that is a depressing thought, nothing will ever change if we constantly focus on all of the bad.

Healing and peace begins with each of us.

“How could this happen?”

“Why would anyone do this?”

“How did we ever let it get this bad?”

I don’t know.

I’ll never understand.

I am not religious yet I still “pray” in a way that means something to me. I believe the state of the world will mirror the energy we put into it. Let’s put in a lot of love, hope and positivity.

Humanity- I just want to see it again.

-The Rambling, Saddened yet still Hopeful,

JLA

Leave your thoughts!

