Black Mass Film Review (2015) Overrated or Brilliant? My vote is…

blkm1

I finally got the chance to watch Black Mass, directed by Scott Cooper (Out of the Furnace, Crazy Heart).  Johnny Depp has been my favorite actor for several years and I have been excited to watch this for some time now.  I heard several mixed reviews.  Some said it was the best movie they have ever seen, others said it wasn’t true enough to the actual real life events.  I didn’t read the book, Black Mass: The True Story of an Unholy Alliance Between the FBI and the Irish Mob by Dick Lehr and Gerard O’Neill, so I am unable to state whether or not they did a good job converting it to the film.

“The true story of Whitey Bulger, the brother of a state senator and the most infamous violent criminal in the history of South Boston, who became an FBI informant to take down a Mafia family invading his turf.” -vai IMDb

Starring:

Johnny Depp, Joel Edgerton, Benedict Cumberbatch, Kevin Bacon, Jesse Plemons, Peter Sarsgaard, Rory Cochrane, Adam Scott, Dakota Johnson, and Corey Stoll.

The first thing I have to say, is that I absolutely love this cast.  It is star studded and they all do amazing performances (or you can see that they tried their best).  Like many other reviewers have said, Cumberbatch’s accent does make you want to cringe- but, I give him respect for trying.

juliannenicholsonblackmass1

Johnny Depp, like always, does an amazing job.  I will not give any spoilers, but there is one scene when Depp speaks to the wife (Julianne Nicholson) of  FBI Agent John Connolly (played by Edgerton) and everything about it gave me chills.  It was perfect.  I love Edgerton for many of his films, but especially for his role as Tom Buchanan in The Great Gatsby.  He does another amazing job in this film.

We’ve seen Depp play “gangster” roles before, such as in Public Enemies, Donnie Brasco etc and he does it extremely well.  There’s a reason I have loved him for the majority of my life.  Now, that’s not to say that Whitey Bulger was properly portrayed, as stated better in this article I found from Vanity Fair.

Overall, there are scenes that I found were really well done but I wasn’t amazed by the film as a whole.  I don’t like saying that about any film that stars Johnny Depp, (believe me, it hurts my soul) but I had waited for such a long time to see it and now that I have, I feel let down.    I am sorry to say that I found this film to be highly overrated.  By the end of it, I was glad it was over.  Johnny, I’m so sorry- I still love you.

Did you think it lived up to the hype and the rave reviews or do you agree that it was a bit of a let down?  Let me know in the comments below!

-JLA

Leave your thoughts!

