Copycat Recipe: The Famous Orange Julep Drink

 The Gibeau Orange Julep restaurant (also known colloquially as OJ or The Big Orange) is a roadside attraction and fast food restaurant in Montreal, Quebec, Canada.[1][2] The building is in the shape of an orange, three storeys high, with a diameter of forty feet.The Orange Julep is quite iconic in Montreal.  I have always loved going there but I will never forget the time my Aunt and Uncle brought me and my Sister there at Midnight while we were in our pajamas, when I was much younger.  It was exciting and it is a great memory for me.  The most iconic part of “The Big Orange” (apart from their building), is their drink, the “Gibeau Orange Julep”.  It is delicious and while the exact recipe is unknown, I have made this version several times and it is close enough for me.

Ingredients

1 6 oz. can orange juice

1 cup milk

1 cup water

1/2 cup sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

12 Ice Cubes

*Optional egg whites/egg substitute may be added for the frothy texture.  About 3 Tbsp, but it is not mandatory.*

Instructions

Put everything in the blender except for the ice.

 Blend for 10-15 seconds until frothy.

Add the ice and blend for another 20 seconds until thoroughly crushed.

Have a taste test.  If it isn’t as sweet as you would like, add a tiny bit more Vanilla extract.  Just be careful- sometimes people put too much vanilla in it and it ends up tasting way too sweet.

Simple isn’t it?

JLA

7 thoughts on “Copycat Recipe: The Famous Orange Julep Drink

    1. Nicole,
      I know! I wish the prices were less expensive at Julep- it’s so addictive. I rather have this drink than a Pumpkin spiced latte any day 😉 Thanks for the comment! Let me know what you think of it once you try it!
      🙂 -JLA

      Like

    1. Hi Barry! Sorry it took me so long to reply! Yes, it is a frozen concentrate. It helps get the frothy, chilled consistency. 🙂 Let me know if you have any other questions or let me know how you like it! Thanks for the question!!
      -JLA

      Like

Leave your thoughts!

