Refreshing Apple Cinnamon Water

IMG_1927

I don’t know why, but it’s always difficult for me to drink the recommended amount of water each day.  This is why, I am always looking up new and healthy (yet tasty) ways to make drinking water a little bit more.. exciting.  My first recipe was delicious but it was time to try a new recipe and this one did not disappoint either!

I looked in my fridge and saw that I had one apple left and growing up, Apple Cinnamon Cheerios were my favorite cereal, so when I see an apple, I instantly think “cinnamon!”.  While I always associate the smell of apples and cinnamon with Autumn and Winter ( I make this during the winter all the time but with boiled water), it was surprisingly delicious on this hot and humid day in Montreal.  It even takes less than five minutes to prepare!

Apple Cinnamon Water

Ingredients

(I only had one apple but I would definitely double the recipe if I could)

2 Apples, Washed Thoroughly and whichever type you like

2 Cinnamon Stick

Large Jug of water

Ice

IMG_1922

Instructions

Slice the apples into very thin pieces.

Mix the slices in the water, add some ice and the cinnamon sticks.

Let it sit in the fridge for 30-60 minutes.

That’s it!

IMG_1925

You can reuse the same apples and sticks a couple of times before switching them out for new ingredients.

You can leave a few slices and a stick of cinnamon on the side if you want to drink it right away (like I did, I was impatient to try it).  You can try boiling the water, allow it to steep and then refrigerate it to see if you get a stronger taste.  I know many people just buy the ground cinnamon rather than the sticks but if you’re making this (and especially if you use boiling water) I find it just clumps up and it doesn’t infuse the water like I would want it to, but it’s up to you!

IMG_1926

*No scientific studies have shown that drinking infused apple cinnamon water will specifically boost your energy levels or help with detoxification efforts by your body. That does not mean drinking infused water is not an excellent, healthful habit: it is, and it is highly encouraged, especially for anyone who is used to downing lots of sugary or artificially-flavored drinks.

[…] the infused water is still virtually a zero beverage, free of the empty calories provided by sugar and the potential health hazards associated with artificial sugars and flavorings.

Drinking infused apple cinnamon water may boost your energy and help keep your energy levels balanced simply because you are providing your body with life-sustaining water instead of soda pop and resulting sugar rushes and lows. 

Lastly, water is a natural detoxifier. That’s why you are encouraged to drink about eight 8-ounces of pure water daily to flush toxins and other wastes from your body via urine, sweat, and breath. Why not make that effort delicious by making and drinking apple cinnamon water—never a waste of time! via – Emaxhealth

**There have been many articles on the health benefits associated with Cinnamon but there are always risks (liver damage), so do your own research/speak to your doctor to see the amount of cinnamon that is safe for your personal consumption. This recipe is, like everything, fine in moderation.

-JLA

5 thoughts on “Refreshing Apple Cinnamon Water

Leave your thoughts!

