A Beginner’s Game Review: Introduction and Marvel Heroes 2015

Hi everyone and welcome to a new segment on Joanna the Montrealer: Game Reviews.

Before I get started, I think there’s a few things you should know.

Growing up, I wasn’t allowed to play with Nintendo or any other form of Gaming Consoles, with the exception of one… Coleco Vision.  This enabled me to play Donkey Kong and Lady Bug… but when I say I am a noob at playing any form of video games, believe me- I am not exaggerating.

Remember this?  I do.  What an annoying remote.
Remember this? I do. What an annoying remote.

When my sisters boyfriend (now husband), let me play The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker all those years ago on his Game Cube, I became obsessed and wanted to play for days (so it was a good thing I didn’t grow up with anything similar- I never would have been found outside).  Zelda will always have a dear spot in my heart and memories- minus the Forsaken Fortress – you just made me frustrated.

zelda

All that being said, I am now exposed to more and more video games thanks to my boyfriend and our friends.  I plan on trying out an assortment of games (League of Legends.. I’m looking at you).  They can be PC games, Game Apps, Video games… the sky is the limit.  Please, stay tuned because I promise you that the fact that I am completely incompetent at gaming will offer several laughs.  If you are a die-hard gamer, you may just get frustrated with me so I apologize in advance.

However, I love Marvel, DC, Comic Books,  and anything to do with that category of entertainment. I will not say that I am an expert because I am DEFINITELY FAR from it.  Trivia questions on these topics may slaughter me and you should speak to my friends instead.

In any case, my favorite games to play are ones that involve Marvel or DC Characters.

I have experimented with several Marvel and DC Game Apps on my phone, and you will hear my reviews of those too, but I wanted to start with a game that I just started while it’s fresh in my memory….

Marvel Heroes 2015

“Set in the iconic Marvel Universe, Marvel Heroes combines the core game-play style of Action RPGs and MMOs with the expansive library of heroes from the Marvel Universe. In the game, players can collect and play as their favorite Marvel Superheroes (including Iron Man, Thor, Wolverine, Hulk, Spider-Man, Captain America and many others).  Team up with friends and try to stop Doctor Doom from devastating the world with the power of the Cosmic Cube in a story written by Marvel comic super-scribe Brian Michael Bendis.”

Hulk

Many of my friends know that I LOVE The Hulk.  So much so, that my name whenever I play any game is “JoHulk” and references to me being The Hulk happen often, which I love.  This is why when I could choose my starting character in Marvel Heroes, it was automatically The Hulk.

 What I like about this game is that you can level up each hero to Level 10 so you get a feel of how each of them work.  Then, when you decide on which one you enjoy the most, you can pick them to be the ONLY one you can uncap to get to Level 60.  I also enjoy quests- I like picking up items, reaching objectives, etc ( WoW, I miss you) but I also love looking like a tank and being able to get my enemies out of the way and quickly.  This game is not a disappointment when it comes to that.  While I have seen complaints that anyone can loot whatever you earned and dropped, I am unsure if that was back when it first started out or not.  I tested it by waiting around the items I had dropped, but no one else around me collected them, so maybe the bug has been fixed or they decided to do things differently. What I wasn’t expecting, was the fact that I was not getting new Item Slots per character.  While it makes sense now, as a beginner player, I was pretty frustrated that it was something I even had to worry about.  Item slots can eventually be upgraded and you get several more, but in my experience, I was always running out of space for what could be really great items and it was a hassle.  I will touch base on this again later.

After I got my Hulk to Level 10, I started playing with Deadpool because… well, I’m really excited for the movie and I love him (Loki, I’m really sorry.. Captain, you’ll be in the top ten… She-Hulk, oops.. the list continues.. This game just gives too many options)!    I am also very sorry to say to Hulk, that Deadpool is making me tank way better than you did- I still love you though.

deadpool

I have only used 2 of the heroes so far but I am really enjoying the game and its graphics.  It makes me want to see how every other character can play and what their abilities are.  It is because of that, I want to say that this game was smart with how it makes you want to play each character and it keeps you interested with every hero available for that amount of time.  On the downside, when  you start each character, it’s not like you get a different scenario.  You have to go through the same levels for each person- which, on one hand, is great because even by the second character, you know what you’re doing and where to get the bonus chests. On the other hand- it gets repetitive and boring.  I don’t know how I’ll feel after checking each character out… I am happy to say though, that so far, I am not asked every two seconds to spend money on any boosts etc.  Keep in mind, I am only at the tenth level- if this changes, you can trust that I will post an update.  Who should I choose to uncap to go to Level 60?!

What I find a tad annoying is, like I said, the item slots.  I don’t mind rearranging everything and visiting a crafter or vendor for items and to buy and sell. I just wish I didn’t have to worry about it mid mission when I am at the prime time for collecting items.  Instead, I have to open my inventory, go through what I have, see which ones are for other heroes or which ones I can sell/donate- which, you have to wait to do on the Avengers Tower or perhaps, at other locations I haven’t found yet.  All of this happens while I’m trying to get the villains off of my back (you can’t open a few chests in a hub so you have to wait for when you’re in the open or a different location).  It’s a pain.  However, now that I know this, I can now plan ahead for which characters I play next and to keep inventory in mind.  The rest of this will be easier and I will level these guys up in two seconds.  I did tell you that I was a noob, so please don’t hate me or my thoughts at this stage.  I can usually get a handle of a game really well pretty quickly.. so just stay tuned.

A Few Comments from Experienced Gamers:

“Best free to play game since League of Legends. Don’t have to spend any money to keep up with other players. Way more fun than Diablo 3 and consistent content updates.  I play many games, and sometimes get bored of this one, but I always end up coming back to it.” via digitalpirate44

“[…] The game itself is basically Diablo 2 with marvel skins but less well written poor music,customisation carbon copy cookie cutter heroes that just blur in too one another extreme grindfest gameplay storage having to be bought from overpriced cash shop.. just do yourselves a favour ignore this game and maybe it will be cancelled and shut down where it belongs” via illfein

Thanks for dealing with Joanna the Noob!

Have you played Marvel Heroes?  What are your thoughts?

Comment below!

4 thoughts on “A Beginner’s Game Review: Introduction and Marvel Heroes 2015

  1. loll…the moment i read comments mentioning League of Legends being a good game i can’t help but SMH and stop reading..but i’ll turn a blind eye this once..
    as for free games you might wanna try DC: Universe Online; same concept, also free, main difference being that you create you’re own Hero/Villiain to play. The learning curve might be a bit steeper than in Marvel Heroes, but it’s equally if not more enjoyable as a whole

    Like

    1. Hiya! Oh boy, I didn’t mean to imply it was a good game- I just have to play it at least once because my boyfriend is completely obsessed with it so I sort of have to. Thank you for reading and for the recommendation! I will definitely try it!

      Like

Leave your thoughts!

