Jenny’s Wedding 2015 Film Review

“Jenny Farrell has led an openly gay life – except with her conventional family. When she finally decides to start a family and marry the woman they thought was just her roommate, the small, safe world the Farrells inhabited changes forever. They are left with a simple and difficult choice – either change with it or drown.”

Starring Katherine Heigl, Alexis Bledel, Tom Wilkinson, Grace Gummer and Linda Emond

Written and Directed by Mary Agnes Donoghue

Many people have mentioned this movie as “That movie that stars that chick from Grey’s Anatomy and the daughter from Gilmore Girls”- and while they are not wrong, I think the film deserves more than being related to those two stars alone.

The movie that could have been amazing does fall just a bit flat, but it touches on a subject that I find very important- how love is love and how people need to stop criticizing when it comes to who anyone is “allowed” to fall in love with.

While I was never a huge fan of Grey’s Anatomy and I only watched a few episodes (I blame Ellen Pompeo, sorry) – I can appreciate Kathrine Heigl for the roles I have seen her in.  As for Alexis Bledel, I will admit- I was a huge Gilmore Girls fan and although it’s hard to stop thinking of her as the teen-aged Rory, I liked seeing her in a role where she was more of an adult.  Seeing the two actresses together is a very refreshing way to see them, both individually and in an attempt to be a couple for the film.

I can only imagine what it would be like to lie to your family about your sexual orientation and about who you want to spend your life with, for so many years.  The fact that this is still an issue today drives me up the wall.  It is not the first time a film has touched base on this topic, but I hope the fact that this film has so many well-known actors in it, is going to get a few of the “younger groups” to be interested in watching and hopefully learning while keeping an open mind.

Too many people are lying about who they really are because of how some members of society see things.  It has to stop.

Anyways, back to the film… there is a good chemistry between Heigl and Bledel, however when it comes to more intimate scenes- they still seem awkward.  Tom Wilkinson has always been one of my favorite actors and I believe both he and Linda Emond do marvelous jobs at portraying parents who are given shocking news.  They have a hard time with it but they both stand up for their daughter, almost as though it is just by instinct- even when they may not be exactly “warm” to the idea.  I do not want to give any part of the film away as a spoiler, so I’m trying to keep the main details out.  However, the whole film has a hint of comedy to it, which is a relief.  I teared up a few times- especially when there were parts between the Heigl and Wilkinson.  Anything that involves family is a huge tear jerker for me though, so it may not be this way for everyone who watches the film.

If not for the family, emotional value, that fact that we know that people are living and struggling with these issues today, outside of a Hollywood film will always pull at my heart strings.  Whether you are someone who is going through it themselves or is merely sympathetic to those who are, you can’t help but feel SOMETHING towards this film.   I don’t mean to make it seem like there is no humor at all- I did laugh quite a bit.  If you watch the film after reading this review, just keep in mind “That grass is so dead.”

Some parts seem like it was added just to have even more drama included- which I felt unnecessary because the topic itself is hard enough.  By the end of the film, you tend to forget about those scenes and see the film as a whole.

Overall, it could have been much better but there are moments that made me feel incredibly angry, saddened, empowered, happy and moments that were simply touching.

I would give it a 7 out of 10.

Have you seen it yet?  What were your thoughts?

Leave your thoughts!

