The Best Face Products: Primers, Foundations, Powders & Highlighters (All less than $10!)

Hi guys!

My name is Meaghan Munguia and I am an aspiring MUA in Montreal. Today I will be reviewing some fabulous drugstore products that I love and are all $10 or less.

I am going to start off with products for the face: primers, liquid foundations, pressed powders and highlighters. Also, just as an FYI, a lot of the products that I use are for oily skin.

Also, these reviews are from my experience on my skin, products I have used on other people for some short films I’ve worked on with friends and when friends ask me to do their makeup for events. My results may or may not be the same as your results.

Primers

StayMatte

First, I have the Rimmel Stay Matte Primer. I LOVE this face primer, it makes the skin smooth, hides pores and actually stays matte! It feels like velvet on the skin and doesn’t build up or make the skin look or feel greasy. The product itself is more of a cream than it is liquid.  I find the liquid primers that I have tried make the skin shiny and I feel like it sits on the surface of the skin. With this cream, like primer, it blends into the skin quite nicely and once it’s dry you can barely feel anything! After wearing makeup all day my skin never looks shiny or greasy. This primer is by far my favorite.

Blur

The second primer I want to talk to you about is the Maybelline Master Prime Blur and Redness Control. Now I have suffered from redness in my cheeks, cystic acne and just plain old “pain in my butt acne” for years, so when I saw this redness control primer I was said “Uhm, YES PLEASE!”. I went home after buying it, eager to see how much redness it will control. To my disappointment, it didn’t control much, and I know its not meant to be a miracle primer nor a concealer but the overall feel and texture of the primer I was happy about. It is a non-oil formula so it leaves the skin feeling smooth and it takes longer than normal for me to look a little shiny from the oil monster that is my skin.

Foundations

Porcelain-Buff-Caramel

My ALL TIME favorite liquid foundation is by E.L.F. it is the Oil Free Flawless Finish Foundation and it is just that, FLAWLESS. The shade Porcelain was the PERFECT match to my skin. I mean, I have never ever found a shade that was perfect- they were always too light, too dark or too orange. I found this beauty at Target (I am kicking myself for not buying more!!) BUT they are still sold online like on amazon or their product website. Honestly I love almost everything from this company, but the foundation is amazing, super light, pretty full coverage doesn’t cake on and blends perfectly into skin. This foundation is 10/10.

lasting

My second favorite liquid foundation is the Rimmel Lasting Finish Foundation. Now on the bottle it says that the foundation is heat, sweat, humidity and transfer proof for 25 hours, now I didn’t go and time it because I’m not about to stay awake for 25 hours to see if it’s true. BUT it actually is pretty damn heat, sweat, humidity and transfer proof, especially when it’s topped off with a certain powder that I will talk about a little later ;). Overall this foundation is great, it’s got great coverage, it goes on smooth whether you like to put your foundation on with a sponge or a brush, the results are the same. The finished look and feel once is dry is fantastic, you don’t even feel like you have makeup on, and as for the transfer proof-ness, virtually nothing comes off unless you are trying to get out of a crazy face smothering bear hug into a black shirt…

clean

This next foundation I used to really like but it can be tricky. Rimmel Clean Finish Matte Foundation. On the bottle it says “look 100% pore-less” and “oil control minerals” .  I tried it on my hand and I liked how it felt and blended enough to buy it so I could further test it.  I went home, took off the makeup I currently had on and tried this one on. I loved it, it was light, blended well, matched my skin pretty well, and after buffing out with powder, it really did look pore-less so I was happy. The next day I was going out so I took a shower and was getting ready.  Now, if you do not hydrate your skin after hot showers like me (I know, I know, bad Meaghan, I’m getting better though I swear!!) this is where the foundation gets tricky. I didn’t realize how dry my skin was after my shower until I put this foundation on, it is great when your skin is already hydrated and moist, but if your skin is dry it really accentuates all the dry parts like under the nostrils and chin. I am not saying that this will happen to everyone with dry skin, but I would proceed with caution and ask for a sample if possible before you buy.

bb-cream

This next one isn’t a foundation but a tinted BB cream from Rimmel. For those who don’t want to wear foundation, this is a great alternative. This product is also a matte finish, it’s a 9 in 1 tinted BB cream and I use it when I don’t feel like putting on a whole face and I just want to go out shopping in my bum clothes.  You know, those days when you don’t really want to get out of bed but you need to get up because you need food or you promised your mom you’d help her find shirts. Most tinted creams that I have tried have been lacking in the tinted section but this one is actually very tinted. It even out the skin pretty well and wears like a foundation, but it is nowhere near as heavy. The only problem I have with this is that the shades are difficult because they run pretty dark and on the orange side.  On the hand or arm they seem good, but if you are more on the pale side you won’t find a shade that will match; their lightest shade is “light” and it’s pretty dark. If you can find your shade, this is a great alternative.

Powders

These are all by the same company: Essence

allabout

My #1 favorite powder by Essence, it’s the All About Matt Fixing Compact Powder. Now I got this gem at the pharmacy and it was $3 I believe. Let me just talk about Essence for a minute- this can be found in a little end aisle at the pharmacy, they have stuff from nail polish to mascara and all of it is pretty darn cheap, about 1 to 4 dollars.  Not that it’s cheap in quality- the products themselves are actually pretty good. I haven’t tried their nail polish but I’m thinking I might 😉 ANYWAY back to the powder, this is a great finishing powder for buffing and blending, I put this over my liquid foundation instead of a pressed foundation powder because it doesn’t just sit on top of the foundation, and it actually blends into the foundation and makes everything nice, even and flawless. The powder is white, but blends in translucent so if you have a full coverage foundation it’s great to put over it without adding on more makeup like a pressed foundation. The softness of your face afterwards is nothing less than amazing. Also, no transfer! This is a great find and buy for anyone.

mattess

If you are using a light coverage foundation, a good pressed powder to use is the Mattifying Compact Powder from Essence. I prefer using pressed powders to loose powders because I find there is less going on your face, it’s easier to control and let’s face it… less mess! Plus the finished look of a compact powder is a lot better because its lighter look, not so heavy and you don’t see residue in the fuzz on the face (annoying!). This powder is great, it covers very well, the shades are pretty varied and match well and once it sets it is just like the powder I mentioned above, amazing. Soft, and you barely feel like you have makeup on.

love

Essence also has a Highlighter, it’s called Love Letters and its actually really cute because engraved in the pressed powder is “Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all thing, endures all things…Love never fails”. Now other than being super cute, this is a pretty good highlighter. The only thing I’m not crazy about is the amount of sparkle it has, it doesn’t look sparkly when you are just looking at it but once you pick some up and put it on… I’m pretty sure that’s what they used to make Edward sparkle in Twilight. The good news is that it can be blended out! It can also be used in the corners of the eyes to give your eyes a little POP.

That’s it for today’s review, hope you all enjoyed it and please let me know if you tried any of these products and how they worked out for you!

The next review will be all about eyes! Eye shadows, mascaras and liners.

Stay tuned!

 Joanna here!  I just want to say a huge “Thank you and Welcome!” to Meaghan for contributing. I don’t wear too much make up anymore (other than for nights out), so I am so glad to have someone who actually knows what they’re talking about helping me out!  To my amazing readers, please follow my blog and/or Facebook Page to read more reviews and beauty tips Meaghan has to offer!  If you want to contact Meaghan, comment below or e-mail me your information and I promise to relay the message until she has her Facebook Page/Website up and running!

As always, recipes and reviews will still be coming your way but a lot of new and exciting changes will be occurring in the following months!  Thank you so much to those who have helped this grow and if you want to get a business, event etc some more publicity, please contact me!

One thought on “The Best Face Products: Primers, Foundations, Powders & Highlighters (All less than $10!)

Leave your thoughts!

