Avocado Sauce Pasta Recipe

Ingredients

Italian Seasoning

Pasta of your choice

1-2 Tomatoes

1-2 Avocados

Garlic

Handful of Spinach

Salt

Pepper

1 Tbsp Olive Oil

Instructions

In a pot (or pan depending on the method you prefer) boil the chosen pasta as instructed in salted water.  Since I was using ingredients I already had, I used Smart Pasta but to make it even healthier, use whole wheat pasta like my friend suggested. While the pasta is cooking, prepare the other ingredients.

Grate or dice the garlic.   Slice one tomato and two avocados.  Depending on how many portions you are making the number of tomatoes and/or avocado you use will be different.  The next time I make this, I think I will use 2 tomatoes and 3 avocados because I just can’t get enough of either ingredient.

Place the avocado and garlic in a bowl and mash them together like you are making guacamole.  I used a fork because I like to keep chunks of avocado but if you rather have more of a smooth recipe, you can use a food processor.  By this time, your pasta should be ready.  Remove from the heat and take about half a cup to one cup of the pasta water and add it to the avocado and garlic mix; drain the rest of the pasta.  Keeping the pasta in the same pot, add the olive oil, handful of spinach and Italian seasoning.  While the spinach absorbs a bit of heat, mix the avocado and water- it will turn into a creamy sauce. Place the sauce in the pot with the pasta, add the diced tomatoes and toss until the pasta is fully coated with the sauce.

IMG_1669 IMG_1670

This whole recipe took about 15 minutes to make and it is absolutely delicious.  You can add other ingredients like bacon pieces, red chili flakes and the cheese of your choice.  At first I was disappointed that I didn’t have any Parmesan cheese left in my fridge but it honestly tasted so good that even I, the queen of Parm, didn’t need it.  If you have leftovers, you can refrigerate it and you can have it as a cold meal as well.  This will be my go to dinner/leftover lunch meal quite often.

Hope you enjoy it!

 

Leave your thoughts!

