Begin Again Film Review

Starring Kiera Knightley, Mark Ruffalo, Adam Levine, James Corden, Cee Lo Green, Mos Def and Catherine Keener

Directed by John Carney

Box Office: $5,286,000 as of July 11, 2014 (USA)

Yesterday was a rainy, lazy Sunday and after we came home from a weekend camping with friends (which was amazing, stay tuned for a post about Voyageur National Park) we just wanted to relax and since we have seen most of the films already out, we decided to see Begin Again.

While I am indifferent when it comes to Keira Knightley, I absolutely love Mark Ruffalo so I was honestly quite excited to see this film.  I was unsure as to whether or not Knightley was the actual singer during the film but I found an article (read it here) stating she did in fact sing and she chose to do this role because it was out of her comfort zone.

I don’t know how I feel about this film- second time in the span of a month- what is happening to me?!  I’ll be honest- this film made me cry unexpectedly about six times, one time almost causing me to soak my entire shirt because I wanted to cry so hard.  I don’t even know why.  I think the lyrics to a few of the songs just really hit a part in me that I forgot was there- so in that aspect, this film was great.

However, I found it quite predictable which made it feel a bit long.  Maybe it was because I was having such a silly reaction to it that it made me feel a bit uncomfortable and want to leave the theatre about 40 minutes before it was over, but the acting was not the root of this issue.  I found everyone did a fantastic job and without James Corden for the comic relief, I think I may have cried even more.  He did a wonderful job and I will now keep my eyes open for more of his work.  Cee Lo Green and Mos Def were also great side characters and my love for Def has grown once again.

Adam Levine was the perfect choice to play the musical jerk that this film needed.  Don’t get me wrong, I really enjoyed Maroon 5 when I was about 13 years old but all I can say now is that he played his role perfectly.  I will not give any spoilers for this film but although the whole thing was predictable, you still wanted to scream at Knightley to not do what she is thinking of doing during one scene and that is all because of how well Levine portrayed his character.

John Carney is known for his film “Once” (2006), which I will probably put on ONCE I am done writing this post- oh my lame jokes- they are horrible, I know.  Once is another musical film and I am excited to see how I feel about this one compared to Begin Again- I will let you know.

Overall, Begin Again wasn’t as good as I had hoped (most movies never are, I need to stop setting my expectations so high) but it was a great film that was perfect for a rainy Sunday.  Most people are not as critical as I am so the majority of people would probably enjoy this film.  I did leave the theatre with one of the songs stuck in my head which is a good sign (Listen to Lost Stars Here!) and a few scenes did make you want to go out to do karaoke or wander the streets of New York but I don’t think I would watch it again- even for Mark Ruffalo.

Leave your thoughts!

