Transformers: Age of Exctinction 2014 Review

Starring Mark Wahlberg, Stanley Tucci, Kelsey Grammer, Nicola Peltz, Jack Reynor, T.J Miller and the voice talent of Peter Cullen, John Goodman, Reno Wilson, Ken Watanabe and Mark Ryan

Directed by Michael Bay

Box Office:  $422,345,000 worldwide as of July 3, 2014.

Featuring music by Linkin Park, Skrillex and Imagine Dragons

I am happy to say that this was the first 3D movie I have seen that I thought it was worth it to actually wear those sometimes painful and annoying 3D glasses for (before any of you say anything, I’m one of few who absolutely hated Avatar- don’t hate me).

The fourth installment of the Transformers Franchise did not disappoint but rather it surprised me by offering a 2 hour and 46 minute movie I would not hesitate to watch again.  I can never pass up the chance to see Autobots (yes, I got the Optimus Prime cup for my drink.. I had to), the cars ( I love Camaros, thanks Bumblebee!), the effects and when it came to this film- the Dinobots!  From the moment I had seen the previews, I got perhaps overly excited about the fact that there would be a T-Rex Dinobot.. but I was not disappointed and I was sitting on the edge of my seat as soon as I knew they were about to have their time in the spotlight during the film.  The graphics were amazing and like always, it makes me have so much respect for the artists involved.

When it comes to the actors, I think I must begin with saying that I was not sure how I felt about Marky Mark playing the lead role in this.  While I generally like him, there has always been something about him that had caused me to be very hesitant when it came to him being in a Transformers film.  However, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed watching him play  Cade Yeager.  I will have to start cutting Wahlberg some slack by keeping in mind it’s not his fault he may have to say really cheesy lines thanks to the writers from time to time.  It was actually really nice to have a break from Shia Labeouf (sorry Shia).

Nicola Peltz and Jack Reynor… well… I don’t have much to say about them except for the fact that I could have done without the apparently mandatory “lovey dovey” scene towards the end.  They had been doing quite well throughout the film of having the love aspect simply be part of the comedic relief until then but of course Hollywood thinks all of us girls need that stupid addition of the “true love” factor… sigh.

I have been in love with Stanley Tucci ever since I first saw him in Beethoven and he even played a bad guy in that one!  As I got older, I started appreciating his roles and his talent more.  Tucci had some of the best lines in this film and I still laugh out loud thinking about them.  It was another stellar performance which did not surprise me at all.

Overall, I absolutely loved this film and the voice talent was as good as ever and having John Goodman’s well known boisterous voice throughout the whole thing was fun all in itself. I walked out of the theater saying “Oh my God.. so good… so, so, good… Dinobots…. cars… Prime… so good….”    I think this was actually my favorite Transformers movie yet.  This franchise could go on for another five movies and if it was done like this one, I don’t think I would complain.

Leave your thoughts!

