In honour of International Women’s Day.. [P!NK]

There are many women who deserve to be mentioned on such an important day; mothers, daughters, women who help better the world each and every day- teachers, stay at home moms, doctors, police officers, soldiers, nurses, peace workers, the list goes on and on.  It’s women who are strong, independent and not afraid to stand up for what they believe in who I look up to the most.  I’m going to keep this upbeat and just talk about one female who I have looked up to since I was a preteen.  Alecia Beth Moore aka P!NK has been my idol ever since “There You Go” was released in 2000 as part of the Can’t Take Me Home album.  However it wasn’t until later on, when my mom, sister and I would dance around to “Get The Party Started” that I really started appreciating her and her lyrics.  Missundaztood which was released in 2001 was played over and over again and I knew it all off by heart.  Try This released in 2003 was a Christmas gift when I was 13 and the songs were appropriate for my teenage, “I’m discovering myself”… self.  I had it on repeat until I’m Not Dead came out and when I heard “Stupid Girls” I had SO much more respect for her.

“What happened to the dreams of a girl president
She’s dancing in the video next to 50 Cent
They travel in packs of two or three
With their itsy bitsy doggies and their teeny-weeny tees
Where, oh where, have the smart people gone?
Oh where, oh where could they be?”

I was so tired of female artists or celebrities portraying this image that their looks and their bank accounts were what really mattered.  I wanted a strong, female to stand up for people’s rights and show that education IS important.  Pink did this.  Funhouse and The Truth About Love albums both had songs that I could relate to, cry to, laugh to and heal to…

Then, almost exactly a year ago, I was able to go to The Truth About Love Tour with the two most important women in my life, my mother and sister.  I cried during the entire concert (I’m not ashamed, music touches my heart strings).  It was one of the best concerts I have ever seen.  Even after having a baby (another reason I am in love with Pink.. her love for her daughter comes first and I think that is so important), Pink’s body was just.. AMAZING.  I wish I was able to do those Cirque du Soleil moves.. my goodness!  Now that I am trying to better myself and be the best person I can be- I am definitely looking into how the heck she got that body.  While doing research on it, I found a few articles that might be interesting for you if you also want her insane abs (yes please!).  You can see info on her diet and workout routine here and here.

Image

I wish she could know how much her songs, lyrics and outlook on life have saved me.  Knowing that will probably never happen, I will just try my best to spread the outlook, continue being happy… and watch The Truth About Love DVD over and over again….

“Women have fought so long and hard for our rights and equality, and now all our attention is put on being a size 0.”

-Pink

For more information on P!NK, visit her official website here.

Love always,

JLA

Leave your thoughts!

