Brown Sugar Glazed Salmon with Tomatoes and Rice Recipe

This is the first time I tried making the brown sugar glazed salmon myself.  I was a bit hesitant while it was in the oven but I ended up really enjoying this recipe!  I mixed two recipes I found online from allrecipes.com and came up with my own dish.  It is really simple and doesn’t take too long to make.  The friend I made it for seemed to really like it, so I hope you do too!

Brown Sugar Glazed Salmon

Original recipe makes 4 servings

Ingredients

1/4 cup packed light brown sugar

2 tablespoons Dijon mustard

4 (6 ounce) boneless salmon fillets

salt and ground black pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven’s broiler and set the oven rack at about 6 inches from the heat source; prepare the rack of a broiler pan with cooking spray.
  2. Season the salmon with salt and pepper and arrange onto the prepared broiler pan. Whisk together the brown sugar and Dijon mustard in a small bowl; spoon mixture evenly onto top of salmon fillets.

                                              3.  Cook under the preheated broiler until the fish flakes easily with a fork, 10 to 15 minutes.  

Rice & Tomatoes
Ingredients
1 cup rice
2 cups water
3 Garlic Cloves (Finely chopped)
3 Tomatoes (Diced)
2 Tbsp Butter
Parsley Flakes
Red Chili Flakes
Olive Oil/White wine
1 tsp Lemon Juice
1/4 Parmesan Cheese
Directions
While the salmon is cooking, prepare your rice. Depending on how many people you are serving, the amount you use will vary.
Using a skillet at medium heat, pour some oil (I used a bit of white wine) along with the lemon juice.  I used more lemon juice than they asked for because I’ll be honest, I love it.  Mix the diced tomatoes and garlic in the skillet and let it simmer.  Once you see the salmon getting pink and flaky, add it to the tomato mixture.  Cube the salmon and mix it with the tomatoes.  Add your parsley, chili flakes and butter.  Keep stirring it.  Once the salmon is fully cooked add the cheese.  (I always put A TON of cheese- parmesan is my all time favorite.)
Take the mixture and pour it over the rice.
Enjoy!
-JLA
One thought on “Brown Sugar Glazed Salmon with Tomatoes and Rice Recipe

Leave your thoughts!

